The voice of parents is the voice of gods, for to their children they are heaven’s lieutenants.
- quotes by Shakespeare


Please Note

M.Sc. Computer Science/M.Sc. (Industrial Mathematics with Computer Applications) Entrance Examination Result 2016

Congratulations to all the students

Ms. Anupama Bhardwaj from TYBSc Mathematics has been selected for Integrated Ph. D. program at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Banalore. Also, Mr. Soham Gokhale from TYBSc Mathematics has been selected for Integrated Ph. D. program at IISER, Thiruananthpuram, Kerala.

Ms. Rekha Khot who topped B. Sc. in June 2014 at Savitribai Phule Pune University cleared CSIR with rank 66.  She is currently studying at Savitribai Phule  Pune University.  Her batchmate Mr. Mayuresh Londhe, currently at IIT, Madras cleared CSIR with rank 67. He also got National Board for Higher Mathematics Scholaship to Pursue Ph. D. in Mathematics. He also got admission to do Ph. D. at IMSc, Chennai. Mr. Aditya Subramaniam who did B. Sc. in 2013 also got National Board for Higher Mathematics Scholaship to Pursue Ph. D. in Mathematics.

Apart from this, Mr. Ashutosh Pandey (SYBSc), Mr. Sagar Shinde (TYBSc) and Ms. Aditi Iyer (TYBSc) have been selected to participate in Taining program in Mathematics at NICER, Bhubaneswar while Mukund Thakare has been selected to participate in Mathematics Training and Talent Search program at IIT, Madras.

Ms. Divya Ghanshani (SYBSc) has been selected to participate in Summer Research program at Harishachandra Research institute. This program

is funded by Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore.

Apart from this, all the students who are in third year of postgraduate program in Mathematics (M.Sc. (Industrial Mathematics with Computer Applications)) got 100% placement.

About the Department: Department of Mathematics:

The subject Mathematics was started in Fergusson College at the time of its establishment. The department has contributed to the glorious history of Fergusson College in its unique distiguished manner. The department is proud to list the following Eminents Personalities and Social Reformers. 

  • Lokamanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak
  • Gopalkrishna Gokhale
  • Bharatratna Maharshi Dhondo Keshav Karve
  • Wrangler R.P. Paranjpye
  • Wrangler G.S. Mahajani
  • Professor D.D. Kosambi
  • Wrangler Chandratrey
  • Dr. Madhumalati Apte
  • Professor A.R. Kamat
  • Shri. A.B. Shah

Mathematics Department is housed in a separate building ‘R.P. Paranjpye Memorial’ which was constructed from funds with Paranjpye Trust and UGC Grant. The Department shifted from Main Building to this new complex in 1970. In the recent past, Department continued its contribution to new trends in Education. Some of the noticable achievements are:

  • Mathematics Olympiad activity at State, National and International Level.
  • Unique Department in India that receives N.B.H.M. (DAE) Annual Grant
  • Bhaskaracharya Pratishthana was established and housed in the department at the initial stages.
  • The department is in Interaction with Research Institutes and Industry.
  • The Departmental Library is funded by NBHM.

The Department started new Post-Graduate Course, with CS Department, M.Sc. (Industrial Mathematics with Computer Applications). Within a short period of time, the course has established its own reputation in Software and Process Industry.


1. Details of the programmes offered by the Department (last year’s data)


Sr. No.

Programme level

Name of the programme/ course


Entry Qualification

Medium of instruction

Sanctioned student strength

Number of students admitted



B.Sc. /B.A.


3 Years







M.Sc. (Industrial Mathematics with Computer Applications)

3 Years

BA/B.Sc. with Maths

at least upto 2nd year OR BE/B.Tech /Bsc. (Engg)




Sr.No. Photo Name of the teacher Designation  
1 Dr. V.V. Acharya
(M.Sc. Ph.D.)
Head, Associate Professor Teaching Faculty
2 A.S.Nanajkar
Assistant Professor Teaching Faculty
3 Manish C. Agalave
Assistant Professor Teaching Faculty
4 Nanasaheb M. Phatangare
Assistant Professor Teaching Faculty
5 Sunil D. Howal
Assistant Professor Teaching Faculty
6 Mayur B. Kshirsagar
Assistant Professor Teaching Faculty
7 Mrs. Vrushali Ashutosh Limaye
Assistant professor Teaching Faculty
8 Hrishikesh Khaladkar
Assistant professor Teaching Faculty
9 Ankur Shukla
Assistant professor Teaching Faculty

Note: Biodata of any of the above mentioned faculty member can be downloaded by clicking on their name.